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Fiscal Impact Summary 

This bill as amended creates the South Carolina Constitutional Carry/Second Amendment 
Preservation Act of 2023, which removes the requirement that a person must possess a concealed 
weapon permit (CWP) in order to carry or store a firearm in certain locations; enables law 
enforcement to retain or dispose of a firearm that has been found and turned in; repeals certain 
unlawful carry offenses; expands the penalty schedule for unlawful possession of a firearm or 
ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment 
of more than one year; enables certain persons convicted of a first offense for unlawful 
possession of a firearm or weapon to apply for expungement of their records; and enables active 
county clerks of court who possess a valid CWP to carry a concealed weapon anywhere within 
the State. 
 
This bill will amend or repeal certain unlawful carrying offenses and will expand the penalty 
schedule for unlawful possession of a firearm or ammunition by a person convicted of a crime 
punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment of more than one year.   
 
Judicial, the Commission on Indigent Defense, the Commission on Prosecution Coordination, 
and the Department of Public Safety report that the bill will have no or a minimal expenditure 
impact since these agencies will administer policies resulting from the bill with the use of 
existing staff and resources. 
 
The South Carolina Department of Corrections (SCDC) reports that while implementation of the 
bill may extend the terms of imprisonment for certain inmates, the resulting expenditure impact 
cannot be determined.  According to SCDC, in FY 2022-23, the annual total cost per inmate was 
$37,758 of which $34,570 was state funded.  SCDC expects to manage any expenditure impact 
due to this bill with existing General Fund appropriations.  If this bill results in a substantial 
increase in incarcerations, Corrections will request an increase in General Fund Appropriations. 
 
The bill also requires the State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) to provide a statewide CWP 
training course free of charge to South Carolina residents.  In addition, the bill makes it unlawful 
for a person who does not possess a valid CWP to use a concealed weapon in certain instances.  
SLED must inform state firearms dealers and residents that the state provides a process for gun 
owners to obtain a CWP, allows law-abiding gun owners to carry their weapons without a 
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permit, and provides that if a gun owner commits a crime involving a concealable weapon when 
he has no valid permit, an additional criminal penalty for the underlying offense may be 
administered.   
 
SLED estimates that the cost of the CWP training would be approximately $4,135,600 based on 
paying instructors a fee of $100 per participant for an average of 41,356 participants a year. The 
agency would hire 4.0 new FTEs at a cost of $369,000 for salaries and fringe, $29,400 for 
recurring expenses to support these FTEs, and one-time expenses of approximately $152,000 for 
vehicles and equipment. SLED also estimates that a media campaign to inform the public of the 
changes would have a one-time cost of $1,000,000. In total SLED would expend approximately 
$5,686,000 in FY 2024-25 and $4,534,000 each year thereafter. The agency anticipates 
requesting an increase in General Fund appropriations to cover these expenses.   
 
This bill, as amended, requires Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to offer the option to place 
an identifying symbol on the driver’s licenses of eligible CWP holders.  The department 
indicates that to meet the provisions of the bill, DMV will need to request a nonrecurring 
General Fund appropriations increase of at least $1,600,000 and a recurring General Fund 
appropriations increase of $100,000.  Under DMV’s current driver’s license production process, 
the department estimates that adding the new symbol for CWP holders will take 30-36 months to 
implement.  However, DMV is currently in the process of transitioning its process, and the 
contract is under protest, which may further delay the implementation of the bill. 
 
Revenue and Fiscal Affairs (RFA) contacted counties and the Municipal Association of South 
Carolina (MASC) to determine the potential impact on local governments.  Horry County reports 
that implementation of the bill will result in the county needing to hire an additional property and 
evidence custodian at a cost of $76,929 annually, beginning in FY 2023-24.  Florence County 
reports the implementation of the bill will have an undetermined impact and will provide for 
additional work for crime scene investigation.  Also, MASC anticipates this bill may impact 
cities due to the potential increase in call volumes to local law enforcement due to the visible 
presence of firearms in public and private settings, increases in insurance claims from cities who 
defend against lawsuits arising out of the increase in law enforcement encounters with people 
who are visibly armed, and increases in costs to review applications and then monitor for 
compliance for public events in cities where firearms may or may not be allowed.  In addition, 
MASC reports cities will likely see increases in liability insurance premiums and court costs.  
These things, along with other factors, are expected to create an expenditure impact of an 
undetermined amount for local governments. 
 
This bill modifies the penalty schedule for the offense of unlawful possession of a firearm or 
ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment 
of more than one year and removes the option for the levy of a fine.  As the number of such 
offenses that might occur in a given year is unknown, the General Fund, Other Funds, and local 
revenue impact is undetermined. 
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SLED reports that the implementation of this bill will have no revenue impact, as the passage of 
Act No. 66 in 2021 removed the requirement that a person pay SLED a $50 application fee for a 
CWP. 
 
This impact statement has been updated to include an expenditure response from SLED. 

Explanation of Fiscal Impact 

Updated for Additional Agency Response on February 28, 2024 
Amended by the Senate on February 1, 2024 
State Expenditure 
This bill as amended creates the South Carolina Constitutional Carry/Second Amendment 
Preservation Act of 2023, which makes a number of changes related to the lawful carry of a 
firearm in South Carolina. 
 
The bill provides that a person who possesses a firearm and is authorized to park on the capitol 
grounds or in the parking garage below the capitol grounds does not need a concealed weapon 
permit to store the firearm within his locked vehicle.  The bill also makes it unlawful, whether or 
not the person has a concealed weapon permit, for anyone to carry a firearm into a law 
enforcement facility, correctional or detention center, courthouse, polling place on election day, 
city or county office building, school or college athletic event, daycare facility, church or 
religious sanctuary, medical center, residence or dwelling of another person, or a place with a 
sign prohibiting the carrying of a firearm.  These provisions do not apply to regular or reserve 
state or federal law enforcement officers (including deputy enforcement officers of the Natural 
Resources Enforcement Division of the Department of Natural Resources and retired 
commissioned law enforcement officers), employees of law enforcement or correctional 
facilities, members of the armed forces, qualified retired law enforcement officers, specified 
active members of the judicial system, or a person given permission to carry a firearm by the 
property owner or person in control of the premises or his agent.  A person who is not otherwise 
prohibited by law from carrying a firearm may lawfully store it anywhere in a vehicle, whether 
occupied or unoccupied. 
 
The bill also removes the requirement that a person who has turned over a gun he has found to a 
law enforcement agency file an application to have the gun returned to him if desired.  In 
addition, the bill requires a law enforcement agency to retain a handgun that has been turned in 
by a person who is prohibited under state or federal law from possessing or receiving a handgun 
and allows the agency to dispose of any gun not reclaimed or returned by sale.   
 
The bill also changes references to the word weapon to firearm and removes the requirement that 
a person possess a concealed weapon permit in order to lawfully:  
 

• securely store a firearm inside a locked vehicle parked on the premises of a public or 
private school, college, university, technical college, other post-secondary institution, or 
while traveling on state roadways running through or adjacent to such premises;  
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• store a weapon inside the glove compartment, the closed console, the closed trunk, or any 
closed container within an attended or locked motor vehicle while on the premises of any 
elementary or secondary school; and  

• carry a firearm onto the premises of a business selling alcoholic beverages, provided that 
the person does not consume such beverages. 

 
Further, the bill requires a person who has lost his concealed weapon permit identification card 
or had his card stolen to report the loss within forty-eight hours of the time the holder becomes 
aware of the loss.  The bill also requires an owner or other person in lawful possession of a 
firearm, rifle, or shotgun whose weapon is lost or stolen to report the event to the appropriate 
local law enforcement agency within thirty days of the discovery. 
 
The bill also authorizes a public or private employer to either allow or disallow the carry of 
firearms onto the premises of the business and to post signage regarding the prohibition or 
allowance of weapons on the premises.   
 
Additionally, the bill removes the requirement that a person possess a concealed weapon permit 
to carry a weapon on the leased premises of an elementary or secondary school if a church leases 
those premises for church services or official church activities, provided that express permission 
has been granted by the appropriate church official or governing body.  The bill also repeals 
Sections 16-23-460 (Carrying concealed weapons; forfeiture of weapons), 23-31-225 (Carrying 
concealed weapons into residences or buildings), and 23-31-230 (Carrying concealed weapons 
on premises of certain schools leased by churches). 
 
Section 16-23-500(A) makes it unlawful for persons who are convicted of violent offenses to 
possess a firearm or ammunition within the state.  The bill removes the reference to violent 
offenses and replaces it with the term “crime punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment of 
more than one year,” and it expands the penalty structure for this felony offense, as shown 
below: 
 

Section 16-23-500(A) Current Penalty Schedule 
Any Level Offense 

Fine of ≤$2,000, imprisonment for ≤10 years, or both 
Section 16-23-500(A) Expanded Penalty Schedule 

1st Offense - Felony 
Imprisonment for ≤5 years 

2nd Offense - Felony 
Mandatory imprisonment for at least 5 years but not more than 20 years 

3rd or Subsequent Offense - Felony 
Mandatory imprisonment for at least 10 years but not more than 30 years 

 
The bill does provide for the following exceptions to the ban on the possession of firearms or 
ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment 
of more than one year: 
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 any offense in this state or another jurisdiction pertaining to antitrust violations, unfair 
trade practices, restraints of trade, or other similar offenses; 

 any offense classified by the laws of this state or another jurisdiction as a misdemeanor 
and punishable by a term of imprisonment of five years or fewer; and 

 any crime for which the conviction has been expunged or set aside for which the person 
has been pardoned or has had his civil rights restored, unless expressly provided 
otherwise.  

Additionally, the bill enables persons who are convicted of a first offense violation for unlawful 
possession of a firearm or weapon—whereby the penalty is imprisonment for not more than one 
year or a fine of one thousand dollars, or both—to apply for expungement of their records if 
three years have passed since the conviction. 

The bill also enables active county clerks of court who possess a concealed weapon permit to 
carry a concealable weapon anywhere in the state. 
 
This bill provides that a concealed weapon permit holder may obtain from DMV a driver’s 
license denoting the concealed weapon permit designation when he presents at the DMV to 
obtain a new, renewed, or replacement driver’s license.  DMV will be responsible for providing a 
copy of the applicant’s concealed weapon permit and license application to SLED prior to 
issuing the specialized version of the driver’s license to the applicant.  SLED must provide 
written certification that an applicant’s permit is valid and, if more than 60 days have elapsed 
since the permit was issued, that the agency conducted or facilitated a state and federal 
background check that resulted in favorable results.  For every applicant who is approved for the 
concealed weapon permit holder license designation, SLED is required to conduct or facilitate a 
state and federal background check on the person every five years whereby the permit must be 
renewed by SLED at no charge when the background check is favorable.  Applications are not 
required for the background check or renewal of the permit. 
  
The bill also provides that a person may present a driver’s license containing the concealed 
weapon permit designation in lieu of presenting a permit when required by law.  In addition, the 
amendment provides that SLED must automatically renew a concealed weapon permit without 
application; reduces the cost of renewal from $50 to an amount no more than the cost of 
renewing a South Carolina driver’s license (currently $12.50); and removes the requirement that 
a person seeking renewal of his concealed weapon permit provide a current picture identification, 
provided he possesses a concealed weapon holder permit designation on his driver’s license.  
Renewed permits are valid for five years.   
 
The bill also requires SLED to provide a statewide concealed weapon permit training course 
satisfying the proof of training requirement for issuance of a concealed weapon permit.  SLED 
may contract with a private training provider or with local law enforcement to provide the 
course, or the agency itself may opt to provide the training.  The course must be provided free of 
charge and offered in every county in the state at least twice per month and provide additional 
classes as needed to meet demand.  This provision does not prohibit a certified concealed 
weapon permit training class instructor from providing his own for-profit training classes.   
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In addition, the bill makes it unlawful for a person convicted of committing or attempting to 
commit a crime involving a concealed weapon to commit another offense involving firearms or 
to carry, have readily accessible, possess, or discharge upon the capitol grounds or within the 
capitol building any firearm or dangerous weapon.  Such offenses are punishable by a term of 
imprisonment for not more than three years.  The term of imprisonment must be served 
consecutively to any term imposed for the underlying offense and may not exceed the actual 
sentence imposed for the underlying offense.  This provision does not apply to a person 
possessing a valid permit to carry a concealable weapon, provided the permit was valid at the 
time the crime was committed.  The additional punishment may only be administered if the 
person did not possess a valid concealed weapon permit during the commission of the crime, if 
he was convicted for the count involving no valid permit, and if he was convicted for the 
underlying crime. 
 
The bill also requires SLED to develop and disseminate to qualified South Carolina firearms 
dealers a document detailing specific information for gun owners as outlined in the bill.  SLED 
must also conduct a regular, statewide marketing campaign informing South Carolina residents 
of those same provisions.  In addition, the bill prescribes the dimensions of the concealed 
weapon permit and establishes the documentation required for submission with a concealed 
weapon permit application.   
 
Judicial.  This bill enacts the South Carolina Constitutional Carry/Second Amendment 
Preservation Act of 2023, which amends a number of offenses involving the carry of a firearm, 
repeals certain carry offenses, and expands the penalty schedule for the unlawful possession of a 
firearm or ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of 
imprisonment.  The following table provides the number of filings related to the offenses in the 
bill for reference. 

 

Criminal Data Report (CDR) Code-Description 
Total 

Filings in 
FY 2022-23 

0043-Carry concealed weapon, not a pistol (e.g., dirk, metal knuckles, etc.) 16 
0044-Unlawful carrying of pistol 6,637 
0300-Carrying or displaying firearms in public buildings or adjacent areas 30 
0543-Carrying concealable weapon on posted places 1 
0615-Carrying weapons on school property 50 
1104-Carrying or discharging firearm or explosive on Capitol grounds or 
buildings 3 
2007-Unlawful act in state park 1 
2504-Concealable weapon permit not in possession, failure to report loss or 
theft 1 
2505-Carrying concealable weapon into certain restricted places 1 
2507-Carrying concealed weapon into residence/dwelling without permission 
of owner 0 
3757-Unlawful consumption of alcohol while carrying concealed weapon 7 
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This bill may decrease the general sessions, magistrate, and municipal courts caseloads for the 
offenses listed in the chart above; however, there are no data available regarding the specific 
offense changes so as to estimate the number of filings, hearings, or trials that would be impacted 
as a result of the bill.  It is anticipated that these changes will have a minimum impact on Judicial 
and can be managed using existing General Fund resources. 
 
Commission on Prosecution Coordination.  The Commission reports this bill will have no 
expenditure impact because the agency will administer policies resulting from the bill with the 
use of existing staff and resources. 
 
Commission on Indigent Defense.  The implementation of this bill will have no expenditure 
impact, as the Commission expects to manage any increase in caseloads within current resources. 
 
State Law Enforcement Division.  This bill tasks SLED with providing a statewide CWP 
training course for free. SLED indicates that 4.0 FTEs at an expense of $369,000 for salary, 
fringe, and overtime will be needed. This includes 2 special agents, a program assistant, and an 
accountant. The agency intends to employ a media campaign at a one-time expense of 
$1,000,000 to inform the public of the program. The agency also provided the following list of 
expenses it anticipates using to support the new FTEs and to provide the CWP training.  
 

Nonrecurring Expenses 
Vehicles for 2 Special Agents $120,000 
Protective Vests and Covers $9,512 
Glock Duty Belt Holsters $2,200 
AR-15s $3,000 
Uniforms, Boots, Handcuffs, etc. $9,000 
Computer Equipment $12,000 
Media Campaign $1,000,000 
Total Nonrecurring Expenses $1,152,000 

 
Recurring Expenses 

4.0 FTEs -Salary & Fringe  $369,000 
Gas $16,800 
I-phone w/ hotspot $1,600 
Mobile and Portable 800 Radio Service $3,200 
Uniform Replacement $1,200 
Training/Travel $3,000 
Technology Licenses $2,400 
1/5 Vehicle Replacement $24,000 
Other $1,200 
CWP Instructors Compensation $4,135,600 
Total Recurring Expenses $4,533,000 

(Totals are rounded) 
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SLED notes that the instructor compensation is based on a $100 training fee multiplied by the 
10-year annual average new CWPs issues of 41,356. Therefore, SLED would expend $5,685,692 
in FY 2024-25 and $4,533,850 each year thereafter. The agency anticipates requesting an 
increase in General Fund appropriations to cover these expenses.   
 
This impact statement has been updated to include an expenditure response from SLED. 
 
Department of Motor Vehicles.  This bill, as amended, requires DMV to offer the option to 
place an identifying symbol on the driver’s licenses of eligible CWP holders.  The department 
indicates that to meet the provisions of the bill, DMV will need to request a nonrecurring 
General Fund appropriations increase of at least $1,600,000 and a recurring General Fund 
appropriations increase of $100,000.  Under DMV’s current driver’s license production process, 
the department estimates that adding the new symbol for CWP holders will take 30-36 months to 
implement.  However, DMV is currently in the process of transitioning its process, and the 
contract is under protest, which may further delay the implementation of the bill. 
 
Department of Public Safety.  The department reports this bill will have no expenditure impact 
because the agency will administer policies resulting from the bill with the use of existing staff 
and resources.  
 
Department of Corrections.  The South Carolina Department of Corrections (SCDC) reports 
that while implementation of the bill may extend the terms of imprisonment for certain inmates, 
the resulting expenditure impact cannot be determined.  According to SCDC, in FY 2022-23, the 
annual total cost per inmate was $37,758 of which $34,570 was state funded.  SCDC expects to 
manage any expenditure impact due to this bill with existing General Fund appropriations.  If 
this bill results in a substantial increase in incarcerations, Corrections will request an increase in 
General Fund Appropriations. 
 
State Revenue 
This bill modifies the penalty schedule for the offense of unlawful possession of a firearm or 
ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment 
of more than one year and removes the option for the levy of a fine.  As such, it has the potential 
to decrease General Fund and Other Funds revenue.  However, as the number of such offenses 
that might occur in a given year is unknown, the General Fund and Other Funds revenue impact 
is undetermined.   
 
SLED reports that the implementation of this bill will have no revenue impact, as the passage of 
Act No. 66 in 2021 removed the requirement that a person pay SLED a $50 application fee for a 
concealed weapon permit. 
 
Local Expenditure 
The Revenue and Fiscal Affairs Office surveyed county governments, as well as MASC, as to 
determine what impact the bill would have on local expenditures.  MASC, Florence County, and 
Horry County provided responses.  MASC indicates it anticipates local law enforcement will 
experience an increase in the number of calls for service, which may result in a need to hire more 
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officers.  In addition, MASC reports cities will likely see increases in liability insurance 
premiums and court costs.  These things, along with other factors, are expected to create an 
undetermined increase in expenses for municipalities.  Horry County reports that it would need 
to hire an additional property and evidence custodian to track weapons that are presented to the 
county sheriff’s department.  The county indicates this hire will cost $76,929 annually beginning 
in FY 2023-24.  Florence County reports the implementation of the bill will have an 
undetermined impact and will provide for additional work for crime scene investigation. 
 
Local Revenue 
This bill modifies the penalty schedule for the offense of unlawful possession of a firearm or 
ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment 
of more than one year and removes the option for the levy of a fine.  As such, it has the potential 
to decrease local revenue from fines for such an offense.  However, as the number of such 
offenses that might occur in a given year is unknown, the local revenue impact is undetermined. 
 
Amended by the Senate on February 1, 2024 
State Expenditure 
This bill as amended creates the South Carolina Constitutional Carry/Second Amendment 
Preservation Act of 2023, which makes a number of changes related to the lawful carry of a 
firearm in South Carolina. 
 
The bill provides that a person who possesses a firearm and is authorized to park on the capitol 
grounds or in the parking garage below the capitol grounds does not need a concealed weapon 
permit to store the firearm within his locked vehicle.  The bill also makes it unlawful, whether or 
not the person has a concealed weapon permit, for anyone to carry a firearm into a law 
enforcement facility, correctional or detention center, courthouse, polling place on election day, 
city or county office building, school or college athletic event, daycare facility, church or 
religious sanctuary, medical center, residence or dwelling of another person, or a place with a 
sign prohibiting the carrying of a firearm.  These provisions do not apply to regular or reserve 
state or federal law enforcement officers (including deputy enforcement officers of the Natural 
Resources Enforcement Division of the Department of Natural Resources and retired 
commissioned law enforcement officers), employees of law enforcement or correctional 
facilities, members of the armed forces, qualified retired law enforcement officers, specified 
active members of the judicial system, or a person given permission to carry a firearm by the 
property owner or person in control of the premises or his agent.  A person who is not otherwise 
prohibited by law from carrying a firearm may lawfully store it anywhere in a vehicle, whether 
occupied or unoccupied. 
 
The bill also removes the requirement that a person who has turned over a gun he has found to a 
law enforcement agency file an application to have the gun returned to him if desired.  In 
addition, the bill requires a law enforcement agency to retain a handgun that has been turned in 
by a person who is prohibited under state or federal law from possessing or receiving a handgun 
and allows the agency to dispose of any gun not reclaimed or returned by sale.   
 



 

  
  
 
 
 
 

Page 10 of 23 
H. 3594 

 

The bill also changes references to the word weapon to firearm and removes the requirement that 
a person possess a concealed weapon permit in order to lawfully:  
 

• securely store a firearm inside a locked vehicle parked on the premises of a public or 
private school, college, university, technical college, other post-secondary institution, or 
while traveling on state roadways running through or adjacent to such premises;  

• store a weapon inside the glove compartment, the closed console, the closed trunk, or any 
closed container within an attended or locked motor vehicle while on the premises of any 
elementary or secondary school; and  

• carry a firearm onto the premises of a business selling alcoholic beverages, provided that 
the person does not consume such beverages. 

 
Further, the bill requires a person who has lost his concealed weapon permit identification card 
or had his card stolen to report the loss within forty-eight hours of the time the holder becomes 
aware of the loss.  The bill also requires an owner or other person in lawful possession of a 
firearm, rifle, or shotgun whose weapon is lost or stolen to report the event to the appropriate 
local law enforcement agency within thirty days of the discovery. 
 
The bill also authorizes a public or private employer to either allow or disallow the carry of 
firearms onto the premises of the business and to post signage regarding the prohibition or 
allowance of weapons on the premises.   
 
Additionally, the bill removes the requirement that a person possess a concealed weapon permit 
to carry a weapon on the leased premises of an elementary or secondary school if a church leases 
those premises for church services or official church activities, provided that express permission 
has been granted by the appropriate church official or governing body.  The bill also repeals 
Sections 16-23-460 (Carrying concealed weapons; forfeiture of weapons), 23-31-225 (Carrying 
concealed weapons into residences or buildings), and 23-31-230 (Carrying concealed weapons 
on premises of certain schools leased by churches). 
 
Section 16-23-500(A) makes it unlawful for persons who are convicted of violent offenses to 
possess a firearm or ammunition within the state.  The bill removes the reference to violent 
offenses and replaces it with the term “crime punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment of 
more than one year,” and it expands the penalty structure for this felony offense, as shown 
below: 
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Section 16-23-500(A) Current Penalty Schedule 
Any Level Offense 

Fine of ≤$2,000, imprisonment for ≤10 years, or both 
Section 16-23-500(A) Expanded Penalty Schedule 

1st Offense - Felony 
Imprisonment for ≤5 years 

2nd Offense - Felony 
Mandatory imprisonment for at least 5 years but not more than 20 years 

3rd or Subsequent Offense - Felony 
Mandatory imprisonment for at least 10 years but not more than 30 years 

 
The bill does provide for the following exceptions to the ban on the possession of firearms or 
ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment 
of more than one year: 
 

 any offense in this state or another jurisdiction pertaining to antitrust violations, unfair 
trade practices, restraints of trade, or other similar offenses; 

 any offense classified by the laws of this state or another jurisdiction as a misdemeanor 
and punishable by a term of imprisonment of five years or fewer; and 

 any crime for which the conviction has been expunged or set aside for which the person 
has been pardoned or has had his civil rights restored, unless expressly provided 
otherwise.  

Additionally, the bill enables persons who are convicted of a first offense violation for unlawful 
possession of a firearm or weapon—whereby the penalty is imprisonment for not more than one 
year or a fine of one thousand dollars, or both—to apply for expungement of their records if 
three years have passed since the conviction. 

The bill also enables active county clerks of court who possess a concealed weapon permit to 
carry a concealable weapon anywhere in the state. 
 
This bill provides that a concealed weapon permit holder may obtain from DMV a driver’s 
license denoting the concealed weapon permit designation when he presents at the DMV to 
obtain a new, renewed, or replacement driver’s license.  DMV will be responsible for providing a 
copy of the applicant’s concealed weapon permit and license application to SLED prior to 
issuing the specialized version of the driver’s license to the applicant.  SLED must provide 
written certification that an applicant’s permit is valid and, if more than 60 days have elapsed 
since the permit was issued, that the agency conducted or facilitated a state and federal 
background check that resulted in favorable results.  For every applicant who is approved for the 
concealed weapon permit holder license designation, SLED is required to conduct or facilitate a 
state and federal background check on the person every five years whereby the permit must be 
renewed by SLED at no charge when the background check is favorable.  Applications are not 
required for the background check or renewal of the permit. 
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The bill also provides that a person may present a driver’s license containing the concealed 
weapon permit designation in lieu of presenting a permit when required by law.  In addition, the 
amendment provides that SLED must automatically renew a concealed weapon permit without 
application; reduces the cost of renewal from $50 to an amount no more than the cost of 
renewing a South Carolina driver’s license (currently $12.50); and removes the requirement that 
a person seeking renewal of his concealed weapon permit provide a current picture identification, 
provided he possesses a concealed weapon holder permit designation on his driver’s license.  
Renewed permits are valid for five years.   
 
The bill also requires SLED to provide a statewide concealed weapon permit training course 
satisfying the proof of training requirement for issuance of a concealed weapon permit.  SLED 
may contract with a private training provider or with local law enforcement to provide the 
course, or the agency itself may opt to provide the training.  The course must be provided free of 
charge and offered in every county in the state at least twice per month and provide additional 
classes as needed to meet demand.  This provision does not prohibit a certified concealed 
weapon permit training class instructor from providing his own for-profit training classes.   
In addition, the bill makes it unlawful for a person convicted of committing or attempting to 
commit a crime involving a concealed weapon to commit another offense involving firearms or 
to carry, have readily accessible, possess, or discharge upon the capitol grounds or within the 
capitol building any firearm or dangerous weapon.  Such offenses are punishable by a term of 
imprisonment for not more than three years.  The term of imprisonment must be served 
consecutively to any term imposed for the underlying offense and may not exceed the actual 
sentence imposed for the underlying offense.  This provision does not apply to a person 
possessing a valid permit to carry a concealable weapon, provided the permit was valid at the 
time the crime was committed.  The additional punishment may only be administered if the 
person did not possess a valid concealed weapon permit during the commission of the crime, if 
he was convicted for the count involving no valid permit, and if he was convicted for the 
underlying crime. 
 
The bill also requires SLED to develop and disseminate to qualified South Carolina firearms 
dealers a document detailing specific information for gun owners as outlined in the bill.  SLED 
must also conduct a regular, statewide marketing campaign informing South Carolina residents 
of those same provisions.  In addition, the bill prescribes the dimensions of the concealed 
weapon permit and establishes the documentation required for submission with a concealed 
weapon permit application.  Such documentation includes a complete set of fingerprints for the 
applicant; law enforcement agencies may charge a fee of $5.00 for fingerprinting an applicant. 
 
Judicial.  This bill enacts the South Carolina Constitutional Carry/Second Amendment 
Preservation Act of 2023, which amends a number of offenses involving the carry of a firearm, 
repeals certain carry offenses, and expands the penalty schedule for the unlawful possession of a 
firearm or ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of 
imprisonment.  The following table provides the number of filings related to the offenses in the 
bill for reference. 



 

  
  
 
 
 
 

Page 13 of 23 
H. 3594 

 

 
This bill may decrease the general sessions, magistrate, and municipal courts caseloads for the 
offenses listed in the chart above; however, there are no data available regarding the specific 
offense changes so as to estimate the number of filings, hearings, or trials that would be impacted 
as a result of the bill.  It is anticipated that these changes will have a minimum impact on Judicial 
and can be managed using existing General Fund resources. 
 
Commission on Prosecution Coordination.  The Commission reports this bill will have no 
expenditure impact because the agency will administer policies resulting from the bill with the 
use of existing staff and resources. 
 
Commission on Indigent Defense.  The implementation of this bill will have no expenditure 
impact, as the Commission expects to manage any increase in caseloads within current resources. 
 
State Law Enforcement Agency.   The expenditure impact of this bill on the South Carolina 
Law Enforcement Division (SLED) is pending, contingent upon a response. 
 
Department of Motor Vehicles.  This bill, as amended, requires DMV to offer the option to 
place an identifying symbol on the driver’s licenses of eligible CWP holders.  The department 
indicates that to meet the provisions of the bill, DMV will need to request a nonrecurring 
General Fund appropriations increase of at least $1,600,000 and a recurring General Fund 
appropriations increase of $100,000.  Under DMV’s current driver’s license production process, 
the department estimates that adding the new symbol for CWP holders will take 30-36 months to 
implement.  However, DMV is currently in the process of transitioning its process, and the 
contract is under protest, which may further delay the implementation of the bill. 
 

Criminal Data Report (CDR) Code-Description 
Total 

Filings in 
FY 2022-23 

0043-Carry concealed weapon, not a pistol (e.g., dirk, metal knuckles, etc.) 16 
0044-Unlawful carrying of pistol 6,637 
0300-Carrying or displaying firearms in public buildings or adjacent areas 30 
0543-Carrying concealable weapon on posted places 1 
0615-Carrying weapons on school property 50 
1104-Carrying or discharging firearm or explosive on Capitol grounds or 
buildings 3 
2007-Unlawful act in state park 1 
2504-Concealable weapon permit not in possession, failure to report loss or 
theft 1 
2505-Carrying concealable weapon into certain restricted places 1 
2507-Carrying concealed weapon into residence/dwelling without permission 
of owner 0 
3757-Unlawful consumption of alcohol while carrying concealed weapon 7 
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Department of Public Safety.  The department reports this bill will have no expenditure impact 
because the agency will administer policies resulting from the bill with the use of existing staff 
and resources.  
 
Department of Corrections.  The South Carolina Department of Corrections (SCDC) reports 
that while implementation of the bill may extend the terms of imprisonment for certain inmates, 
the resulting expenditure impact cannot be determined.  According to SCDC, in FY 2022-23, the 
annual total cost per inmate was $37,758 of which $34,570 was state funded.  SCDC expects to 
manage any expenditure impact due to this bill with existing General Fund appropriations.  If 
this bill results in a substantial increase in incarcerations, Corrections will request an increase in 
General Fund Appropriations. 
 
State Revenue 
This bill modifies the penalty schedule for the offense of unlawful possession of a firearm or 
ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment 
of more than one year and removes the option for the levy of a fine.  As such, it has the potential 
to decrease General Fund and Other Funds revenue.  However, as the number of such offenses 
that might occur in a given year is unknown, the General Fund and Other Funds revenue impact 
is undetermined.   
 
SLED reports that the implementation of this bill will have no revenue impact, as the passage of 
Act No. 66 in 2021 removed the requirement that a person pay SLED a $50 application fee for a 
concealed weapon permit. 
 
Local Expenditure 
The Revenue and Fiscal Affairs Office surveyed county governments, as well as MASC, as to 
determine what impact the bill would have on local expenditures.  MASC, Florence County, and 
Horry County provided responses.  MASC indicates it anticipates local law enforcement will 
experience an increase in the number of calls for service, which may result in a need to hire more 
officers.  In addition, MASC reports cities will likely see increases in liability insurance 
premiums and court costs.  These things, along with other factors, are expected to create an 
undetermined increase in expenses for municipalities.  Horry County reports that it would need 
to hire an additional property and evidence custodian to track weapons that are presented to the 
county sheriff’s department.  The county indicates this hire will cost $76,929 annually beginning 
in FY 2023-24.  Florence County reports the implementation of the bill will have an 
undetermined impact and will provide for additional work for crime scene investigation. 
 
Local Revenue 
This bill modifies the penalty schedule for the offense of unlawful possession of a firearm or 
ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment 
of more than one year and removes the option for the levy of a fine.  As such, it has the potential 
to decrease local revenue from fines for such an offense.  However, as the number of such 
offenses that might occur in a given year is unknown, the local revenue impact is undetermined. 
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Amended by the House of Representatives on February 23, 2023 
State Expenditure 
This bill as amended creates the South Carolina Constitutional Carry/Second Amendment 
Preservation Act of 2023, which makes a number of changes related to the lawful carry of a 
firearm in South Carolina. 
 
The bill provides that a person who possesses a firearm and is authorized to park on the capitol 
grounds or in the parking garage below the capitol grounds does not need a concealed weapon 
permit to store the firearm within his locked vehicle.  The bill also makes it unlawful, whether or 
not the person has a concealed weapon permit, for anyone to carry a firearm into a law 
enforcement facility, correctional or detention center, courthouse, polling place on election day, 
city or county office building, school or college athletic event, daycare facility, church or 
religious sanctuary, medical center, residence or dwelling of another person, or a place with a 
sign prohibiting the carrying of a firearm.  These provisions do not apply to regular or reserve 
state or federal law enforcement officers (including deputy enforcement officers of the Natural 
Resources Enforcement Division of the Department of Natural Resources and retired 
commissioned law enforcement officers), employees of law enforcement or correctional 
facilities, members of the armed forces, qualified retired law enforcement officers, specified 
active members of the judicial system, or a person given permission to carry a firearm by the 
property owner or person in control of the premises or his agent.  A person who is not otherwise 
prohibited by law from carrying a firearm may lawfully store it anywhere in a vehicle, whether 
occupied or unoccupied. 
 
The bill also removes the requirement that a person who has turned over a gun he has found to a 
law enforcement agency file an application to have the gun returned to him if desired.  In 
addition, the bill requires a law enforcement agency to retain a handgun that has been turned in 
by a person who is prohibited under state or federal law from possessing or receiving a handgun 
and allows the agency to dispose of any gun not reclaimed or returned by sale.   
 
The bill also changes references to the word weapon to firearm and removes the requirement that 
a person possess a concealed weapon permit in order to lawfully:  
 

• securely store a firearm inside a locked vehicle parked on the premises of a public or 
private school, college, university, technical college, other post-secondary institution, or 
while traveling on state roadways running through or adjacent to such premises;  

• store a weapon inside the glove compartment, the closed console, the closed trunk, or any 
closed container within an attended or locked motor vehicle while on the premises of any 
elementary or secondary school; and  

• carry a firearm onto the premises of a business selling alcoholic beverages, provided that 
the person does not consume such beverages. 

 
Further, the bill requires a person who has lost his concealed weapon permit identification card 
or had his card stolen to report the loss within forty-eight hours of the time the holder becomes 
aware of the loss.  The bill also requires an owner or other person in lawful possession of a 
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firearm, rifle, or shotgun whose weapon is lost or stolen to report the event to the appropriate 
local law enforcement agency within thirty days of the discovery. 
 
The bill also authorizes a public or private employer to either allow or disallow the carry of 
firearms onto the premises of the business and to post signage regarding the prohibition or 
allowance of weapons on the premises.   
 
Additionally, the bill removes the requirement that a person possess a concealed weapon permit 
to carry a weapon on the leased premises of an elementary or secondary school if a church leases 
those premises for church services or official church activities, provided that express permission 
has been granted by the appropriate church official or governing body.  The bill also repeals 
Sections 16-23-460 (Carrying concealed weapons; forfeiture of weapons), 23-31-225 (Carrying 
concealed weapons into residences or buildings), and 23-31-230 (Carrying concealed weapons 
on premises of certain schools leased by churches). 
 
Section 16-23-500(A) makes it unlawful for persons who are convicted of violent offenses to 
possess a firearm or ammunition within the state.  The bill removes the reference to violent 
offenses and replaces it with the term “crime punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment of 
more than one year,” and it expands the penalty structure for this felony offense, as shown 
below: 
 

Section 16-23-500(A) Current Penalty Schedule 
Any Level Offense 

Fine of ≤$2,000, imprisonment for ≤10 years, or both 
Section 16-23-500(A) Expanded Penalty Schedule 

1st Offense - Felony 
Imprisonment for ≤5 years 

2nd Offense - Felony 
Mandatory imprisonment for at least 5 years but not more than 20 years 

3rd or Subsequent Offense - Felony 
Mandatory imprisonment for at least 10 years but not more than 30 years 

 
The bill does provide for the following exceptions to the ban on the possession of firearms or 
ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment 
of more than one year: 
 

 any offense in this state or another jurisdiction pertaining to antitrust violations, unfair 
trade practices, restraints of trade, or other similar offenses; 

 any offense classified by the laws of this state or another jurisdiction as a misdemeanor 
and punishable by a term of imprisonment of five years or fewer; and 

 any crime for which the conviction has been expunged or set aside for which the person 
has been pardoned or has had his civil rights restored, unless expressly provided 
otherwise.  
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Additionally, the bill enables persons who are convicted of a first offense violation for unlawful 
possession of a firearm or weapon—whereby the penalty is imprisonment for not more than one 
year or a fine of one thousand dollars, or both—to apply for expungement of their records if 
three years have passed since the conviction. 

The bill also enables active county clerks of court who possess a concealed weapon permit to 
carry a concealable weapon anywhere in the State. 
 
Judicial.  This bill enacts the “South Carolina Constitutional Carry/Second Amendment 
Preservation Act of 2023,” which amends a number of offenses involving the carry of a firearm, 
repeals certain carry offenses, and expands the penalty schedule for the unlawful possession of a 
firearm or ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of 
imprisonment.  The following table provides the number of filings related to the offenses in the 
bill for reference. 
 
 

 
This bill may decrease the general sessions, magistrate, and municipal courts caseloads for the 
offenses listed in the chart above; however, there are no data available regarding the specific 
offense changes so as to estimate the number of filings, hearings, or trials that would be impacted 
as a result of the bill.  It is anticipated that these changes will have a minimum impact on Judicial 
and can be managed using existing General Fund resources. 
 
Commission on Prosecution Coordination.  The Commission reports this bill will have no 
expenditure impact because the agency will administer policies resulting from the bill with the 
use of existing staff and resources. 
 

Criminal Data Report (CDR) Code-Description 

Total 
Filings in 

2022 
0043-Carry concealed weapon, not a pistol (e.g., dirk, metal knuckles, etc.) 10 
0044-Unlawful carrying of pistol 6,185 
0300-Carrying or displaying firearms in public buildings or adjacent areas 26 
0543-Carrying concealable weapon on posted places 1 
0615-Carrying weapons on school property 43 
1104-Carrying or discharging firearm or explosive on Capitol grounds or 
buildings 1 
2007-Unlawful act in state park 0 
2504-Concealable weapon permit not in possession, failure to report loss or 
theft 1 
2505-Carrying concealable weapon into certain restricted places 0 
2507-Carrying concealed weapon into residence/dwelling without permission 
of owner 0 
3757-Unlawful consumption of alcohol while carrying concealed weapon 4 
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Commission on Indigent Defense.  The Commission reports this bill will have no expenditure 
impact because the agency will administer policies resulting from the bill with the use of existing 
staff and resources. 
 
State Law Enforcement Agency.  SLED reports this bill will have no expenditure impact 
because the agency will administer policies resulting from the bill with the use of existing staff 
and resources.  
 
Department of Public Safety.  The department reports this bill will have no expenditure impact 
because the agency will administer policies resulting from the bill with the use of existing staff 
and resources.  
 
Department of Corrections.  This bill expands the penalty schedule for unlawful possession of 
firearm or ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of 
imprisonment of more than one year and provides for longer terms of imprisonment.  This may 
modify how long an inmate may be incarcerated.  According to SCDC, in FY 2021-22, the 
annual total cost per inmate was $32,247, of which $30,044 was state funded, and the marginal 
cost per inmate was $4,836, of which $4,830 was state funded.  However, SCDC expects to 
manage any expenditure impact using existing General Fund appropriations. 
 
State Revenue 
This bill modifies the penalty schedule for the offense of unlawful possession of a firearm or 
ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment 
of more than one year and removes the option for the levy of a fine.  As such, it has the potential 
to decrease General Fund and Other Funds revenue.  However, as the number of such offenses 
that might occur in a given year is unknown, the General Fund and Other Funds revenue impact 
is undetermined.   
 
SLED reports that the implementation of this bill will have no revenue impact, as the passage of 
Act No. 66 in 2021 removed the requirement that a person pay SLED a $50 application fee for a 
concealed weapon permit. 
 
Local Expenditure 
The Revenue and Fiscal Affairs Office surveyed county governments, as well as MASC, as to 
determine what impact the bill would have on local expenditures.  MASC and Horry County 
provided responses.  MASC indicates it anticipates local law enforcement will experience an 
increase in the number of calls for service, which may result in a need to hire more officers.  In 
addition, MASC reports cities will likely see increases in liability insurance premiums and court 
costs.  These things, along with other factors, are expected to create an undetermined increase 
municipalities.  Horry County reports that it would need to hire an additional property and 
evidence custodian to track weapons that are presented to the county sheriff’s department.  The 
county indicates this hire will cost $76,929 annually beginning in FY 2023-24. 
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Local Revenue 
This bill modifies the penalty schedule for the offense of unlawful possession of a firearm or 
ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment 
of more than one year and removes the option for the levy of a fine.  As such, it has the potential 
to decrease local revenue from fines for such an offense.  However, as the number of such 
offenses that might occur in a given year is unknown, the local revenue impact is undetermined. 
 
Amended by House Judiciary on February 16, 2023 
State Expenditure 
This bill as amended creates the South Carolina Constitutional Carry/Second Amendment 
Preservation Act of 2023, which makes a number of changes related to the lawful carry of a 
firearm in South Carolina. 
 
The bill provides that a person who possesses a firearm and is authorized to park on the capitol 
grounds or in the parking garage below the capitol grounds does not need a concealed weapon 
permit to store the firearm within his locked vehicle.  The bill also makes it unlawful, whether or 
not the person has a concealed weapon permit, for anyone to carry a firearm, whether concealed 
or not, unless otherwise specified by law into a law enforcement facility, correctional or 
detention center, courthouse, polling place on election day, city or county office building, school 
or college athletic event, daycare facility, church or religious sanctuary, medical center, 
residence or dwelling of another person, or a place with a sign prohibiting the carrying of a 
firearm.  These provisions do not apply to regular or reserve state or federal law enforcement 
officers (including deputy enforcement officers of the Natural Resources Enforcement Division 
of the Department of Natural Resources and retired commissioned law enforcement officers), 
employees of law enforcement or correctional facilities, members of the armed forces, qualified 
retired law enforcement officers, specified active members of the judicial system, or a person 
given permission to carry a firearm by the property owner or person in control of the premises or 
his agent.   
 
The bill also removes the requirement that a person who has turned over a gun he has found to a 
law enforcement agency file an application to have the gun returned to him if desired.  In 
addition, the bill requires a law enforcement agency to retain a handgun that has been turned in 
by a person who is prohibited under state or federal law from possessing or receiving a handgun 
and allows the agency to dispose of any gun not reclaimed or returned by sale.   
 
The bill also changes references to the word weapon to firearm and removes the requirement that 
a person possess a concealed weapon permit in order to lawfully: 
 

• Securely store a firearm inside a locked vehicle parked on the premises of a public or 
private school, college, university, technical college, other post-secondary institution, or 
while traveling on state roadways running through or adjacent to such premises;  

• Store a weapon inside the glove compartment, the closed console, the closed trunk, or 
any closed container within an attended or locked motor vehicle while on the premises of 
any elementary or secondary school; and  
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• Carry a firearm onto the premises of a business selling alcoholic beverages, provided that 
the person does not consume such beverages. 

 
Further, the bill requires a person who has lost his concealed weapon permit identification card 
or had his card stolen to report the loss within 48 hours of the time the holder became aware of 
the loss.  A person who fails to do so is subject to prosecution and may incur a fine of not more 
than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than one year, or both, and he may have his permit 
revoked for up to five years. 
 
The bill also authorizes a public or private employer to either allow or disallow the carry of 
firearms onto the premises of the business and to post signage regarding the prohibition or 
allowance of weapons on the premises.   
 
Additionally, the bill removes the requirement that a person possess a concealed weapon permit 
to carry a weapon on the leased premises of an elementary or secondary school if a church leases 
those premises for church services or official church activities, provided that express permission 
has been granted by the appropriate church official or governing body.  The bill also repeals 
Sections 16-23-460 (Carrying concealed weapons; forfeiture of weapons), 23-31-225 (Carrying 
concealed weapons into residences or buildings), and 23-31-230 (Carrying concealed weapons 
on premises of certain schools leased by churches). 
 
Section 16-23-500(A) makes it unlawful for persons who are convicted of violent offenses to 
possess a firearm or ammunition within the state.  The bill removes the reference to violent 
offenses and replaces it with the term “crime punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment of 
more than one year,” and it expands the penalty structure for this felony offense, as shown 
below: 
 

Section 16-23-500(A) Current Penalty Schedule 
Any Level Offense 

Fine of ≤$2,000, imprisonment for ≤10 years, or both 
Section 16-23-500(A) Expanded Penalty Schedule 

1st Offense 
Imprisonment for ≤5 years 

2nd Offense 
Mandatory imprisonment for at least 5 years but not more than 20 years 

3rd or Subsequent Offense 
Mandatory imprisonment for at least 10 years but not more than 30 years 

 
The bill does provide for the following exceptions to the ban on the possession of firearms or 
ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment 
of more than one year: 

 Any offense in this state or another jurisdiction pertaining to antitrust violations, unfair 
trade practices, restraints of trade, or other similar offenses; 
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 Any offense classified by the laws of this state or another jurisdiction as a misdemeanor 
and punishable by a term of imprisonment of five years or fewer; and 

 Any crime for which the conviction has been expunged or set aside for which the person 
has been pardoned or has had his civil rights restored, unless expressly provided 
otherwise.  

Additionally, the bill enables persons who are convicted of a first offense violation for unlawful 
possession of a firearm or weapon—whereby the penalty is imprisonment for not more than one 
year or a fine of one thousand dollars, or both—to apply for expungement of their records if 
three years have passed since the conviction. 

The bill also enables active county clerks of court who possess a concealed weapon permit to 
carry a concealable weapon anywhere in the State. 
 
Judicial.  This bill enacts the “South Carolina Constitutional Carry/Second Amendment 
Preservation Act of 2023,” which amends a number of offenses involving the carry of a firearm, 
repeals certain carry offenses, and expands the penalty schedule for the unlawful possession of a 
firearm or ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of 
imprisonment.  The table below provides the number of filings related to the offenses in the bill 
for reference. 

 
This bill may decrease the general sessions, magistrate, and municipal courts caseloads for the 
offenses listed in the chart above; however, there are no data available regarding the specific 
offense changes so as to estimate the number of filings, hearings, or trials that would be impacted 
as a result of the bill.  The data that Judicial can provide would be total filings; however, some of 
the above filings would not be impacted by the bill.  It is anticipated that these changes will have 
a minimum impact on Judicial and can be managed using existing General Fund resources. 

Criminal Data Report (CDR) Code-Description 

Total 
Filings in 

2022 
0043-Carry concealed weapon, not a pistol (e.g., dirk, metal knuckles, etc.) 10 
0044-Unlawful carrying of pistol 6,185 
0300-Carrying or displaying firearms in public buildings or adjacent areas 26 
0543-Carrying concealable weapon on posted places 1 
0615-Carrying weapons on school property 43 
1104-Carrying or discharging firearm or explosive on Capitol grounds or 
buildings 1 
2007-Unlawful act in state park 0 
2504-Concealable weapon permit not in possession, failure to report loss or 
theft 1 
2505-Carrying concealable weapon into certain restricted places 0 
2507-Carrying concealed weapon into residence/dwelling without permission 
of owner 0 
3757-Unlawful consumption of alcohol while carrying concealed weapon 4 
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Commission on Prosecution Coordination.  The Commission reports this bill will have no 
expenditure impact because the agency will administer policies resulting from the bill with the 
use of existing staff and resources. 
 
Commission on Indigent Defense.  The Commission reports this bill will have no expenditure 
impact because the agency will administer policies resulting from the bill with the use of existing 
staff and resources. 
 
State Law Enforcement Agency.  SLED reports this bill will have no expenditure impact 
because the agency will administer policies resulting from the bill with the use of existing staff 
and resources.  
 
Department of Public Safety.  The department reports this bill will have no expenditure impact 
because the agency will administer policies resulting from the bill with the use of existing staff 
and resources.  
 
Department of Corrections.  This bill expands the penalty schedule for unlawful possession of 
firearm or ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of 
imprisonment of more than one year and provides for longer terms of imprisonment.  Due to 
variations in patterns of sentencing and convictions, the expenditure impact of the bill on SCDC 
is undetermined. According to SCDC, in FY 2021-22, the annual total cost per inmate was 
$32,247, $30,044 of which was state funded, and the marginal cost per inmate was $4,836, 
$4,830 of which was state funded.  SCDC expects to manage any expenditure impact using 
existing General Fund appropriations. 
 
Local Expenditure 
The Revenue and Fiscal Affairs Office surveyed county governments, as well as MASC, as to 
whether implementation of the bill would result in an expenditure impact.  MASC and Horry 
County provided responses.  MASC indicates it anticipates an increase in the number of calls for 
service, which will result in a need to hire more officers.  In addition, MASC reports cities will 
likely see increases in liability insurance premiums and court costs.  These things, along with 
other factors, are expected to create an expenditure impact of an undetermined amount for 
municipalities.  Horry County reports that it would need to hire an additional property and 
evidence custodian to track weapons that are presented to the county sheriff’s department.  The 
county indicates this hire will cost $76,929 annually beginning in FY 2023-24. 
 
State Revenue 
This bill modifies the penalty schedule for the offense of unlawful possession of a firearm or 
ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment 
of more than one year and removes the option for the levy of a fine.  As such, it has the potential 
to decrease General Fund revenue from fines, as well as Other Funds revenue of Judicial and 
other applicable agencies who receive a distribution from fine revenue for such an offense.  
However, as the number of such offenses that might occur in a given year is unknown, the 
revenue impact is undetermined.   



 

__________________________________  
Frank A. Rainwater, Executive Director  
 
DISCLAIMER: THIS FISCAL IMPACT STATEMENT REPRESENTS THE OPINION AND INTERPRETATION OF THE 
AGENCY OFFICIAL WHO APPROVED AND SIGNED THIS DOCUMENT. IT IS PROVIDED AS INFORMATION TO 
THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY AND IS NOT TO BE CONSIDERED AS AN EXPRESSION OF LEGISLATIVE INTENT. 
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SLED reports that the implementation of this bill will have no revenue impact, as the passage of 
Act No. 66 in 2021 removed the requirement that a person pay SLED a $50 application fee for a 
concealed weapon permit. 
 
Local Revenue 
This bill modifies the penalty schedule for the offense of unlawful possession of a firearm or 
ammunition by a person convicted of a crime punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment 
of more than one year and removes the option for the levy of a fine.  As such, it has the potential 
to decrease General Fund revenue from fines, as well as Other Funds revenue of local agencies 
who receive a distribution from fine revenue for such an offense.  However, as the number of 
such offenses that might occur in a given year is unknown, the revenue impact is undetermined. 


